View previous topic :: View next topic   Goto page 1, 2  Next
Cmelt

re: Building a Gaming Setup

So i'm planning on trying to organize a nice setup for when TOR comes out since right now i'm only using a laptop. I have Dell desktop computer but I want to go all out and create a nerdgasmic center of high tech gaming equipment. However I have never done this before and have no clue where to begin. I would appreciate some help in figuring out what I need to do to get this all together and what brands of equipment I should be looking at.

"The high destiny of the individual is to serve rather than to rule" -Albert Einstein
Atrayu Yung

I just build a custom pc in late september so give me your budget options and that will help narrow some stuff down, but basically you need to decide if you want to go amd vs intel. Amd just came out with its new bulldozer processor, but I'm not sure how it stacks up to the sandybridge, I haven't done much research on them. Your GPU is one of the most important parts and you can either go with a single really powerful card, or run a two card crossfire or sli setup. But your budget will really determine that.

Awarded:

Really hard to give you much help without three things-ish:

1) General budget - how much are you looking to spend? we can hook you up with a monster of a machine, or a best-for-your-buck budget build that'll run things nicely. To give you an idea, I build rather top-notch machines and save up around $800 for each upgrade - I've been upgrading every five years or so on average, which is a pretty good time-to-obsolete in my opinion.

2) What hardware do you already have? Do we need to get a monitor in this budget? Hard drive? Case? CD-Rom drive? Can we salvage any of these things from the old one?

3) What're you looking to do with it, just a gaming rig? Or do you want to be able to do video editing, etc...

Thanks! We'll help as best we can Happy