View previous topic :: View next topic   Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Captain Bubbles

re: Member's Cookbook : Recipe Inspiration

I thought it would be fun to have a cookbook on the forums and see what kind of yummy things everyone likes to make and maybe try a few new recipes myself.

I used to be a horrible cook (I burnt pasta, hard boiled eggs, even water...) and since I stopped eating gluten, I became a lot more involved with cooking and concerned about ingredients.

So, I'll start this thread with an awesome recipe I made this morning :

Peach and raspberry crisp

Ingredients :
4 cups peaches (fresh or canned)
2 cups raspberries (fresh or frozen)
3 tablespoon sugar
1 cup + 3 tablespoon rice flour
1 cup oats
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup cold butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease (with butter) 9x13 pan. Mix peaches, raspberries, sugar and 3 tablespoon of flour. Add to pan.

Mix rest of flour, oats and brown sugar. Cut in cold butter. Sprinkle butter mixture over peaches and raspberries. Bake uncovered for 45 minutes.

Serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream nomnomnomnom!

Last edited by Captain Bubbles on April 16, 2011 7:16 pm; edited 1 time in total

Before you criticize someone, try to put yourself on their ship and fly around a while. That way, when you criticize them, you're a few parsecs away and you have their ship.
Taic

That sounds really good! I will definitely have to try it sometime. Happy

I got this recipe from a co-worker from my old job. I have made it a few times and it is absolutely amazing! Since we have some non-American members, I will add the metric measurements too!

Banana Cake

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. (176 degrees Celsius)
1 cup (240 mL) shortening
1 1/2 cups (350 mL) sugar
2 eggs
3-4 bananas (The riper the better!)
1 tsp (5 mL) vanilla
1 tsp (5 mL) baking soda dissolved into 1/2 cup (120 mL) of water
2 cups (475 mL) flour (bread flour works best, but all purpose is just fine)
1 tsp (5 mL)baking powder